Categories Windows Vista

File: Optimise Windows Vista (Part 1): Windows Startup and Services


Microsoft’s new operating system, i.e., Windows Vista is resource-intensive (as you have certainly noticed). It must be said that the performance part of the OS was somewhat forgotten when it was designed. Fortunately, many effective tricks exist to make it faster and responsive.

Plan of the file

The first part of this dossier will be devoted entirely to improving the start-up of Vista.

The system configuration tool

“Start” tab

When installing programs on your computer, many run on startup: looking for updates, or simply launching the program in a background task...

The problem is that in the long run, they greatly slow down the startup of your computer. To remedy this, let’s use the built-in Vista system configuration tool.

For this, do Windows+R, enter msconfig and click on OK. The system configuration tool window is displayed.

On the tab Start-up, you can see the list of all programs running at startup. Uncheck those that are not indispensable (Adobe Reader, Nero, Java...) and keep the ones necessary for your computer to function properly such as the mouse driver, or even sound.

If you don't know what a program fits, look at its location path or the manufacturer column.

If you have disabled an important program by mistake, and necessary for Vista, it will reactivate automatically.

Here is a list of the programs that I have enabled on my mobile and those that I have disabled:

Outil de configuration système
System Configuration Tool

As you can see, there’s not much more activity left compared to the start.

“Services” tab

This utility also allows you to disable unnecessary services from external and internal Vista applications. When starting up, many services take charge (several hundred sometimes!): some are necessary for the network, others for security...

But many services can be disabled. It all depends on your needs! We will see here only those services that are likely to have a significant impact on the start-up (as regards the other services, I will discuss this in the second part of this file).

To do this, click on the tab Services.

Then tick the box” Hide all Microsoft services“. From now on, the services displayed are not specific to the operating system: they come from programs installed by yourself.

As before, uncheck unnecessary ones such as: NMIndexing Service (an indexing tool of your hard drive by Nero, useless because Vista already integrates), Google Updater Service and Google Update Service (research daily updates for Google products such as Google Earth, Picasa...: often, and this is valid for many software, several weeks/months run between your version and a new update, disable it, especially as you can still search for updates via the software in question)...

Many services can be present: if their names consist of the English word update, it means that it is a program that searches for updates: unlock them: they use bandwidth and significantly slow start-up time. To update them, launch the program in question and browse the various menus (often in the Tools or Help menus).

And with regard to Microsoft services (uncheck the box” Hide all Microsoft services“), Deactivation of the Workstation service allows a serious saving of time: the latter can be disabled only if you are connected to the Internet by WIFI and must remain enabled on a LAN network or one in the case of a server. Thanks to this deactivation, the start of your session should no longer block for a few seconds the time to establish the connection to the Internet (I repeat only in the case of a wireless network: WIFI).

Finally, click on Apply then on OK.

12 comments

Leave a Reply

  • Fredy

    Thank you for your answer. Another thing, the NVIDIA Windows compatible boot elements... and NVIDIA Media Center... aren't they recommended since they are drivers?

  • @Fredy : personally, I fired everything and I didn't encounter any problems. I think I read somewhere that it wasn't essential to let them activate. That said, if you encounter a problem, nothing prevents you from re-starting them later.

  • Fredy

    Okay, thank you, I'm going to essyer.

    I'd like to say that I love your blog even if you could go a little further a few times.

  • @Fredy : thank you for enjoying this blog! It is true that we could go further — I say because there are also Rainbow and other contributors on the team, but we have to vary the difficulty by proposing things that are within the reach of everyone and more technical things that require basic knowledge.

    The right middle is sometimes hard to find...

    Regarding NVIDIA, the service is useless.

  • Benj22

    SLT!

    I have a little problem...
    My antivirus no longer appears in “security center” or my firewall (all Mcafee)
    And I think it’s after deactivating the “windows defender” and “fire-windows” services, yet I think there was nothing more normal than deactivating these services since I have my antivirus that makes both! (and I don't want any obstruction and also that none of the 2 (firewall and windows defender) were activated anyway!
    consequence: security center message at every pc boot (pc not secure). So I disable the security center service -> new message like it is disabled...

    I reactivate all 3 services and the, impossible to detect my anti-virus with security center, forced to put that I manage everything myself!
    But I'd like him to redetect my anti-virus

    Thank you

  • @Benj22 : the deactivation of the Security Centre results in such messages. But normally, your antivirus is still operational as well as your firewall. So you don't need the Security Center activated as a service.

    If you want the Security Center to stop warning you every time your PC is not secure, open it, and in the left sidebar, there is normally a link to manage notification messages.

    When at Firewall, I still advise you to let it enable by default for “minimal” security reasons (despite the fact that it is managed by your antivirus).

    Finally, Windows Defender is useless, if you already have your own antivirus, you can disable it.

    Finally, if you want to keep the Security Center service, and it re-detects your antivirus, the best thing is that you reinstall it (but telling him that you manage the security yourself is good as well).

    Here you go.

  • Benj22

    Just that when we have turned off the “security center” service, the link of the left sidebar disappears in turn, so it is not possible to control the permanent messages at startup like “your security center is disabled, enable it for more security”!

    It is only if I have reactivated the service that I can then manage the notification messages...

    Also, I have a firewall with mcafee, so I don't think I need the standard Windows firewall, if? it’s not the same, if?

    Otherwise am I able to go to share files in a network even if I have disabled my Windows firewall? Because on the other hand, it seems to tell me in network center and sharing that without the Windows firewall, it is impossible to disable sharing!

    last question, I hope :
    how is your security centre reinstalled?

    I'm sorry again for the inconvenience.

    • @Benj22: the security center doesn't reset, it’s just a service to reactivate. So, logically you reactivate it, you change the notifications and then you disable it: then he shouldn't bother you anymore. If this is still the case, you should try to disable the notification area icon (right-click on the menu start in an empty place then Properties, and look for something like Always hide the icon).
      As for the firewall, you have noticed for yourself it is necessary to share files on certain types of networks (public in particular) so let it enable it consumes no particular resources, as much as keep it.

      Here you go! Have I answered all your questions? If not, don't hesitate

  • Bebj22

    Hey! Hey!

    Sorry for the delay, (I wasn't at home...)
    Yes Thank you, you answered all the questions I asked myself!

    Thank you again for your site. @bientôt!

Catégories Windows Vista

Dossier : Optimiser Windows Vista (partie 1) : Démarrage et services Windows


Le nouveau système d’exploitation de Microsoft, c’est à dire, Windows Vista est très gourmand en ressources (comme vous l’avez certainement remarqué). Il faut le dire, la partie performance de l’OS a été quelque peu oubliée lors de sa conception. Heureusement, de nombreuses astuces efficaces existent pour le rendre plus rapide et réactif.

Plan du dossier

La première partie de ce dossier sera entièrement consacrée à l’amélioration du démarrage de Vista.

L’outil de configuration système

Onglet « Démarrage »

Lors de l’installation de programmes sur votre ordinateur, nombreux sont ceux qui s’exécutent au démarrage : recherche de mises à jour, ou tout simplement lancement du programme en tâche de fond…

Le problème, c’est qu’à la longue, ils ralentissent fortement le démarrage de votre ordinateur. Pour remédier à cela, faisons appel à l’outil de configuration du système intégré à Vista.

Pour cela, faites Windows+R, entrez msconfig et cliquez sur OK. La fenêtre de l’outil de configuration système s’affiche.

Sous l’onglet Démarrage, vous voyez s’afficher sous forme de tableau, la liste de tous les programmes s’exécutant au démarrage. Décochez ceux qui ne sont pas indispensables (Adobe Reader, Nero, Java…) et gardez ceux nécessaires au bon fonctionnement de votre ordinateur comme le pilote de la souris, ou encore du son.

Si vous ne savez pas à quoi correspond un programme, regardez son chemin d’emplacement ou encore la colonne fabricant.

Si vous avez désactivé un programme important par erreur, et nécessaire à Vista, celui ci se réactivera automatiquement.

Voici une liste des programmes que j’ai activé sur mon portable et ceux que j’ai désactivé :

Outil de configuration système
Outil de configuration système

Comme vous pouvez le constater, il n’en reste plus beaucoup d’activé par rapport au départ.

Onglet « Services »

Cet utilitaire permet également de désactiver les services inutiles d’applications externes et internes à Vista. Lors du démarrage, de nombreux services se chargent (plusieurs centaines parfois !) : certains sont nécessaires pour le réseau, d’autres la sécurité…

Mais, nombreux sont les services qui peuvent être désactivés. Tout dépend de vos besoins ! Nous verrons uniquement ici les services qui sont susceptibles d’influencer sensiblement le démarrage (concernant les autres services, j’en parlerai dans la deuxième partie de ce dossier).

Pour cela, cliquez sur l’onglet Services.

Cochez ensuite la case « Masquer tous les services Microsoft« . Désormais, les services qui s’affichent ne sont pas propres au système d’exploitation : ils proviennent de programmes installés par vous-mêmes.

Comme précédemment, décochez ceux inutiles comme par exemple : NMIndexing Service (outil d’indexation de votre disque dur par Nero, inutile car Vista en intège déjà), Google Updater Service et Google Update Service (effectuent une recherche des mises à jour quotidiennement pour les produits Google tels Google Earth, Picasa… : souvent, et cela est valable pour de nombreux logiciels, plusieurs semaines/mois s’écoulent entre votre version et une nouvelle mise à jour, désactivez-le, surtout que vous pouvez quand même rechercher les mises à jour via le logiciel en question)…

De nombreux services peuvent être présents : si leurs dénominations se composent du mot anglais update, cela signifie que c’est un programme effectuant une recherche de mises à jour : décocher-les : ils utilisent de la bande passante et ralentissent considérablement le temps de démarrage. Pour les mettre à jour, lancer le programme en question et parcourer les différents menus (souvent dans les menus Outils ou Aide).

Et en ce qui concerne les services Microsoft (décochez la case « Masquer tous les services Microsoft« ), la désactivation du service Station de travail permet un sérieux gain de temps : ce dernier peut être désactivé uniquement si vous êtes connecté à Internet par WIFI et doit rester activer sur un réseau LAN ou un dans le cas d’un serveur. Grâce à cette désactivation, le lancement de votre session ne devrait plus se bloquer pendant quelques secondes le temps d’établir la connexion à Internet (je répète uniquement dans le cas d’un réseau sans fil : WIFI).

Enfin, cliquez sur Appliquer puis sur OK.

12 commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. Apprenez comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

  • fredy

    Merci pour ta réponse. Une autre chose, les éléments de démarrage NVIDIA Compatible Windows… et NVIDIA Media Center… ne sont-ils pas recommandé vu que ce sont des pilotes?

  • @fredy : personellement, j’ai tout viré et je n’ai rencontré aucun problème. Je crois avoir lu quelque part que ce n’était pas essentiel de les laisser activer. Cela dit, si tu rencontres un problème rien ne t’empêche de les remettre en route par la suite.

  • @fredy : merci à toi d’apprécier ce blog ! Il est vrai que nous pourrions aller plus loin – je dis car il y a aussi Rainbow et d’autres contributeurs dans l’équipe, mais il faut varier la difficulté en proposant des choses à la portée de tous et des choses plus techniques qui demandent des connaissances de base.

    Le juste milieu est parfois dur à trouver…

    Concernant le service NVIDIA, celui est inutile.

  • Benj22

    Slt !

    J’ai un petit problème…
    Mon antivirus n’apparait plus dans « centre de sécurité » ni mon pare-feu (le tout Mcafee)
    Et je crois que c’est après avoir désactivé les services « windows defender » et « par feu-windows », pourtant je pense qu’il n’y avait rien de plus normal que de désactiver ces services puisque j’ai mon antivirus qui fait les deux ! (et je ne veux pas d’entrave et aussi que aucun des 2 (pare feu et windows defender) n’étaient de toute manière activés !
    conséquence: message du centre de sécurité a chaque démarrage pc (pc pas sécurisé). Donc je désactive le service centre de sécurité -> nouveau message comme quoi il est désactivé…

    Je réactive l’ensemble des 3 services et la, impossible de détecter mon anti-virus avec centre de sécurité, obligé de mettre que je gère tout moi même !
    J’aimerais pourtant qu’il me redetecte mon anti-virus

    Merci

  • @Benj22 : en effet, la désactivation du Centre de sécurité entraîne ce genre de messages. Mais normalement, ton antivirus est toujours opérationnel ainsi que ton parefeu. Donc, tu n’as pas besoin du Centre de sécurité activé en tant que services.

    Si tu souhaites que le Centre de sécurité ne t’avertisse plus à chaque fois que ton PC n’est pas sécurisé, ouvres ce dernier, et dans la sidebar latérale gauche, il y a normalement un lien qui permet de gérer les messages de notification.

    Quand au service Parefeu, je te conseille tout de même de le laisser activer par défaut pour des raisons de sécurité « minimale » (malgré le fait qu’il soit gérer par ton antivirus).

    Enfin, Windows Defender ne sert à rien, si tu as déjà ton propre antivirus, tu peux donc le désactiver.

    Pour terminer, si tu souhaites garder le service Centre de sécurité, et qu’il te redétectes ton antivirus, le mieux est que tu le réinstalles (mais le fait de lui dire que tu gères toi même la sécurité est bien aussi).

    Voilà voilà

  • Benj22

    Juste que lorsqu’on a désactive le service « centre de sécurité », le lien de la sidebar latéral gauche disparait a son tour donc pas possible de contrôler les messages permanent au démarrage du genre « votre centre de sécurité est désactivé, activer le pour plus de sécurité » !

    C’est seulement si j’ai réactivé le service que je peux par la suite gérer les messages de notification…

    Aussi, j’ai un un pare-feu avec mcafee, donc je pense pas avoir besoin du pare_feu Windows standard, si ? c’est pas les même, si ?

    Autrement est ce que je peu aller partager des fichier en réseau même si j’ai désactivé mon pare-feu Windows? Parce que a l’inverse, il semble me dire dans centre réseau et partage que sans le pare_feu Windows, il est impossible de désactiver le partage ! bizarre nan ?

    dernière question, j’espère :
    comment réinstalle t-on son centre de sécurité ?

    encore désole pour le dérangement.

    • @Benj22 : le centre de sécurité ne se réinstalle pas, c’est juste un service à réactiver. Donc, logiquement tu le réactives, tu changes les notifications puis tu le désactives : il ne devrait alors plus t’embêter. Si c’est toujours le cas, tu devrais essayer de désactiver l’icône de la zone de notification (clic-droit sur le menu démarrer dans un endroit vide puis Propriétés, et cherches quelque chose du genre Toujours masquer l’icône).
      Concernant le parefeu, tu t’en est aperçu par toi même il est nécessaire pour partager des fichiers sur certains types de réseaux (publics notamment) donc laisses activer ça consomme pas de ressources particulières, autant le garder.

      Voilà voilà ! Ai-je répondu à toutes tes questions ? Si non, n’hésites pas

  • Bebj22

    Hey !

    Désolé du retard, (j’étais pas chez moi…)
    Oui Merci, t’as répondu à toutes les questions que je me posais !

    Encore Merci Pour votre site. @bientôt !